City of Edna Bay - Special Meeting

1 — Meeting Date, Place and Call to order:

This Special meeting was held on Friday, October 7th, 2016 at Edna Bay School. Mayor Richter called the meeting to order at 6:05 PM.

2 — Roll Call:

Heather Richter	- Mayor / Presiding Officer	(Present)
Karen Williams	- Vice Mayor / City Council	(Present)
Tyler Poelstra	- Clerk / City Council	(Present)
Myla Poelstra	- Treasurer / City Council	(Present)
Carleigh Fairchild	- City Council	(Present)
Doris Greif	- City Council	(Present)

2.1 — Public Participants:

Sharon WargiMike WilliamsLee GreifRichard StockdaleMaureen VieraSandy HensonPat Richter

3 — Consent Agenda:

A: Approval of Meeting Agenda:

The current agenda was read by Mr. Poelstra.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor, and no objections were noted.

Motion:

Councilor Fairchild moved to accept the consent agenda as read.

- Seconded by Councilor Greif

- <u>Approved</u> by unanimous vote of the council

3.1 — Business:

4

Special Business:

• a: Election Review Committee Meeting and Certification of Election.

Special Business

Item A – Election Review Committee Meeting and Certification of Election:

Mayor Richter announced that the General Election was held on Tuesday and went smoothly. It is now time for the Council to meet as the Canvass Committee and count absentee ballots and question ballots.

Municipal Clerk Tyler Poelstra read back specifics of the Election Review Committee process and how the results will be certified from the Title 5 - Elections ordinances. It was announced that six (6) voters registered for and requested Absentee ballots. Five (5) ballots were returned in time to be counted. Councilor (Mr.) Poelstra asked to be removed from the counting procedure as the Election Supervisor, and also requested that Councilors Williams, (Mrs.) Poelstra and Fairchild be responsible for opening the absentee ballots, removing their stubs and depositing them in the ballot box since they are the only other Council members not running in this General Election.

Councilor (Mr.) Poelstra then opened the ballot box to show all in attendance that it was indeed empty, locked the box and then opened the City safe to reveal the five (5) absentee ballot envelopes. He opened each to recite and verify the information on the Oath and Affidavit Envelope to those in attendance before handing them to the Canvass Committee members. They then opened the Oath and Affidavit envelopes, removed the number stub and deposited them into the ballot box. Once all were deposited, the Committee then moved onto the one (1) Question Ballot that was cast during the election.

The question ballot was from Frances Rhodes, and the Question Ballot indicated she was not on the register at the time she cast her ballot. As per Title 5, Tyler called the Division of Elections to verify whether the voter qualified to vote in the Local Election. The voter registered on September 7th, 2016 which was

27-days prior to the election, not the minimum of 30-days as required under State law to vote in any election within Alaska (Local or General).

Councilor (Mr.) Poelstra stated that the public should not be involved in polling on what to do with another voter's ballot and should be excused from this part of the process and also asked that he be excused from the Council vote due to being the Election Supervisor. Mayor Richter concurred and upheld the excusals.

<u>Motion:</u>

Councilor Fairchild moved to reject the question ballot from Frances Rhodes due to failure to meet the State of Alaska registration deadline of 30-days.

- Seconded by Councilor Greif
- Roll Call Vote:

Councilor Greif	- Yea
Mayor Richter	- Yea
Councilor Williams	- Yea
Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra	- Yea
Councilor Fairchild	- Yea
Councilor (Mr.) Poelstra	- Excused

- <u>Approved</u> by majority vote of the council

The remaining absentee ballots were processed.

All absentee votes were tallied and all three (3) tallies resulted in the following vote counts:

Heather Richter:	4 Votes	
Doris Greif:	4 votes	
Richard Stockdale:	3 vote	
Myla Poelstra:	0 votes (the write-in vote was not counted due to the X not being filled on the ballot)	
Ben Crew:	0 votes (the write-in vote was not counted due to the X not being filled on the ballot)	

The preliminary and absentee votes were then tallied together resulting in the final conclusive vote counts:

Doris Greif:	27 Votes
Heather Richter:	25 votes
Richard Stockdale:	24 votes
Ben Crew:	2 votes
Lois Morgan:	1 votes
Scott Palmer:	1 votes
Sandy Henson:	0 votes (the write-in vote was not counted due to the X not being filled on the ballot)
Myla Poelstra:	0 votes

It was noted that one (1) ballot was Defective and was not counted on General Election day due to a large erasure being made to the contents of the ballot on a write-in candidate check box and name field.

Mayor Richter signed the certification documents and handed them to the Clerk. Doris Greif will receive Seat C (3-year) with the highest vote count, followed by Heather Richter who will receive Seat D (3-years) with the second highest vote count, and Richard Stockdale will receive Seat E (1-year) with the third highest vote count.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of accepting the results of the Regular Election and no objections were noted.

Motion:

Councilor Williams moved to accept and certify the results of the General Election held on October 4th, 2016, with Doris Greif winning Seat C for a 3-year term, Heather Richter winning Seat D for a 3-year term and Richard Stockade winning Seat E for a 1-year term.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra

- Approved by unanimous vote of the council

All three candidates then read back their oaths to office and were sworn in to their new terms.

Absentee ballots, the rejected ballot and all election materials were moved to the City safe.

5 – Persons to be Heard:

Pat Richter thanked the Council members for their commitment to the community and their time that they put into everything they do to support the City.

Councilor Fairchild thanked the Election Judges, Lee Greif, Maureen Viera and Sandy Henson, for their service during the election. She also publicly announced that she will be absent for the next Regular Council Meeting.

Adjournment

Mayor Richter moved that the meeting be adjourned. Motion seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra Meeting adjourned at 7:02 PM.